Virginia Welcome Center at New Church
3420 Lankford Highway
New Church, VA 23415
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Garden Tour brochures available
Other Places of Interest
(*National Register of Historical Places and/or Virginia Historic Landmark)
middle eastern shore
*Ker Place (tour headquarters)
69 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. Built in 1799, this brick mansion is home to the Eastern Shore of Virginia Historical Society and is a restoration project of the Garden Club of Virginia. Guided tours on the hour from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. (757) 787-8012 or www.shorehistory.org. No fee.
Eastern Shore Watermen's Museum
The mission of the Eastern Shore Watermen's Museum is to preserve the history, celebrate the present, and encourage the future for the watermen (and the entire maritime heritage and culture) of Virginia's Eastern Shore. It is located in Historic Onancock School and is open 4-8pm on Friday, May 3 and 9am - 7pm on Saturday, May 4. www.esvawatermen.org
*Hopkins and Bros. Store, (1842)
2 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. This vibrant mercantile center, currently operating as Mallards Restaurant, will host an exhibit of artifacts and photographs depicting its heyday of maritime trading. Owned by the Eastern Shore Historical Society. (757) 787-8558 or www.onancock.org. The building will host an exhibit.
*Historic Cokesbury Church (1854)
13 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. This Greek Revival building is the oldest church in Onancock. (757) 787-4873. Historic Cokesbury Methodist Church is celebrating the completed restoration of its twelve stained glass windows which were created in 1893 by the Alfred Godwin firm of Philadelphia under the direction of Frederick Wilson. In 1894, Mr. Wilson became art director of the Tiffany Studio. The church, constructed in 1854, is accessible by elevator and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and the Virginia Landmarks Register.
middle eastern shore
SAMUEL D. OUTLAW BLACKSMITH SHOP
5 Boundary St., Onancock, VA 23417. A rare, intact blacksmith shop in historic downtown Onancock. This 20' x 50' shop built in 1927 houses a display of actual tools used by Mr. Outlaw as he serviced watermen, farmers, neighbors and friends until 1994. Tours and school groups are welcome. Call (757) 656-3460 and visit www.outlawblacksmithshop.org.
*Locustville Academy, (1859)
28055 Drummondtown Road, Locustville, VA 23404. Preserved ante-bellum schoolhouse. Report cards, slates and period textbooks from the period. Interesting photographs of students, teachers and founding members are on display. No fee.
lower eastern shore
*Barrier Islands Center and Almshouse Farm
7295 Young Street, Machipongo, VA 23405. Though the islands are now mostly deserted, this museum provides photos, artifacts and written accounts of those who once called them home. Also preserved here is the most complete almshouse complex extant in the United States. (757) 678-5550 or www.barrierislandscenter.com. No fee.
*Historic Northampton County Courthouse and Court Green
16404 Courthouse Rd., Eastville VA 23347, is one of the earliest and most complete in Virginia reflecting the continuity of government in Eastville for over 300 years. Docents on site for tours. No fee.
Kiptopeke State Park
Travel three miles north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Toll Plaza and turn west onto Rt. 704, the park entrance is within half a mile. Visit website for admission fees. www.dcr.virginia.gov/state-parks/kiptopeke.shtml#general_information