Virginia Welcome Center at New Church
3420 Lankford Highway
New Church, VA 23415
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Garden Tour brochures available
Other Places of Interest
(*National Register of Historical Places and/or Virginia Historic Landmark)
lower eastern shore
*Historic Northampton County Courthouse and Court Green
16404 Courthouse Rd., Eastville VA 23347, is one of the earliest and most complete in Virginia reflecting the continuity of government in Eastville for over 300 years. Docents on site for tours. No fee.
*Cape Charles Museum Welcome Center and Historic District
814 Randolph Avenue, Cape Charles, VA 23310. Enjoy views of the Chesapeake Bay, shops, galleries and restaurants in this Victorian railroad town. (757) 331-1008 or www.capecharles.org.
Eastern Shore National Wildlife Refuge Visitor Center
32205 Seaside Road, Cape Charles, Virginia 23310. Refuge Headquarters: 5003 Hallett Circle, Cape Charles. Just after the Eastern Shore Welcome Center, turn east onto Rt. 600 and then right onto Hallett Circle. www.fws.gov/refuge/eastern_shore_of_virginia/
Kiptopeke State Park
Travel three miles north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Toll Plaza and turn west onto Rt. 704, the park entrance is within half a mile. Visit website for admission fees. www.dcr.virginia.gov/state-parks/kiptopeke.shtml#general_information
*Arlington Plantation Site & Custis Tombs (1670-1749)
Capeville, VA 23313. Turn west on Rt. 644 off of Rt. 13. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. www.virginia.org/Listings/HistoricSites/CustisTombs/
*Pear Valley, (c.1740)
Rt. 628, Eastville, VA 23347. Earliest surviving example of single-room-plan yeoman’s cottage in Virginia.
Christ Episcopal Church, (1828)
16304 Courthouse Road, Eastville, VA 23347.
*Hungars Episcopal Church (1742)
10107 Bayside Rd, Machipongo, VA 23405.
*Barrier Islands Center and Almshouse Farm
7295 Young Street, Machipongo, VA 23405. Though the islands are now mostly deserted, this museum provides photos, artifacts and written accounts of those who once called them home. Also preserved here is the most complete almshouse complex extant in the United States. (757) 678-5550 or www.barrierislandscenter.com. No fee.
upper eastern shore
Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge and Assateague Island National Seashore
8231 Beach Rd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336. Tom’s Cove Visitor Center offers beachcombing exhibits and a touch tank. The Herbert H. Bateman Center is the winner of several “green architecture” awards for sustaining the environment. You can climb the 1833 Assateague Lighthouse, and view a rocket at the NASA Visitor Center on Wallops Island. www.chincoteaguechamber.com.
middle eastern shore
*Ker Place (tour headquarters)
69 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. Built in 1799, this brick mansion is home to the Eastern Shore of Virginia Historical Society and is a restoration project of the Garden Club of Virginia. Guided tours on the hour from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. (757) 787-8012 or www.shorehistory.org. No fee.
*Historic Cokesbury Church (1854)
13 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. This Greek Revival building is the oldest church in Onancock. (757) 787-4873.
*Hopkins and Bros. Store, (1842)
2 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. This vibrant mercantile center, currently operating as Mallards Restaurant, will host an exhibit of artifacts and photographs depicting its heyday of maritime trading. Owned by the Eastern Shore Historical Society. (757) 787-8558 or www.onancock.org. The building will host an exhibit.
*Francis Makemie Presbyterian Church, (1837)
23355 Back Street, Accomac, VA 23301.
Established by one of the founders of American Presbyterianism. Church was used as a Union stable during the Civil War.
*St. James Episcopal Church, (1838)
Drummondtown Rd, Accomac, VA 23301.
Greek Revival architecture with interior trompe l’oeill frescoes.
*Accomac Debtors Prison(1782)
23296 Courthouse Avenue, Accomac, Va 23301. The Accomac Debtors Prison is a rare survivor of penal architecture of the colonial period. Originally built as a jailer's residence, it is the oldest public structure in the county. It was added to the Virginia Landmarks Register and the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
*Locustville Academy, (1859)
28055 Drummondtown Road, Locustville, VA 23404. Preserved ante-bellum schoolhouse. Report cards, slates and period textbooks from the period. Interesting photographs of students, teachers and founding members are on display. No fee.