5 AMES Street, Onancock VA 23417

Originally built c. 1927, the Grace Ames House sits on a point of land on the central branch of Onancock Creek. J. Grace Ames purchased the property in 1925 and negotiated access to what is now known as the Ames Street Bridge which was privately owned at that time. The Grace Ames House is a classic example of a craftsman bungalow “kit house.” Beginning in the early 1900s, kit houses were sold from the pages of catalogues and shipped by train across the United States. The current owners renovated the home from the foundation up in 2016-17, creating an open, flowing design that incorporates multiple vantages of the creek.

Light and lines prevail in the contemporary interior. Daylight streams through the open master bath, featuring floor to ceiling tile. Eclectic and diverse art by well-known Eastern Shore artists has been thoughtfully collected by the homeowners and displayed throughout. The cleverly constructed back of the house features a second story deck with panoramic creek views. Outdoors, the garden is whimsical and unstructured with a focus on nature. Migratory birds enjoy native plants and waterfront perches. Open for the first time. Dr. Greg & Patsy Felthousen, owners.

4. Eastern  Shore 2019 Grace Ames House kitchen.jpg